Results

Edward Watson mail: edward.watson@klarkzon.eu | web: edward.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 21:01:07 +0000
Talking With A 22-Year-Old Donald Trump Supporter
He lives near San Francisco, makes more than $50,000 per year, and is voting for the billionaire to fight against political correctness.
Patrick Torres mail: patrick.torres@geheime.club | web: patrick.geheime.club | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 11:09:03 +0000
'Street Sharks' And The Meaninglessness Of History On The Internet
A decade ago, I wrote some fan fiction that continues to distort the truth about a knock-off "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" cartoon. Everything you think you know about "Street Sharks" is a lie.
George Nelson mail: george.nelson@affablyhomonym.com | web: george.affablyhomonym.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 09:09:02 +0000
Biological Complexity Keeps Us Young
Our physiological processes become increasingly simple as we age.
Arthur Butler mail: yahoo@horse-d.eu | web: arthur.horse-d.eu | when: Tue, 24 May 2016 22:18:30 +0000
Sci-Fi Classics That Accurately Predicted The Future
Did you know a kid’s cartoon show predicted 3D-printed food in 1962? Check out what else these science-fiction classics got eerily right about today’s technology.
Steven Boyd mail: steven.boyd@thedarkswans.com | web: steven.thedarkswans.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 07:09:02 +0000
American Schools Are Teaching Our Kids How To Code All Wrong
Across America, there's a push to teach kids how to code to fill the skills gap created by the booming tech industry. Are introductory programs a good way for kids to get their feet wet or just a distraction from the real work to be done?
Walter Richardson mail: walter.richardson@affablyhomonym.com | web: walter.affablyhomonym.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 05:09:02 +0000
The Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Guide To Trading On Inside Information
These days, what might be legally considered insider trading is much harder to prosecute.
Bruce Garcia mail: bruce.garcia@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: bruce.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 17:54:16 +0000
When You Play The Vinyl Soundtrack For 'Star Wars: The Force Awakens,' Cool Holograms Appear
All records will be hand etched by Tristan Duke who also worked on Jack White’s innovative Lazaretto vinyl. To view the 3D holograms, you simply need a light source above the LP as it spins.
Harold Marshall mail: yahoo@affablyhomonym.com | web: harold.affablyhomonym.com | when: Sat, 28 May 2016 01:06:02 +0000
Why Does Gin And Tonic Taste So Good?
The chemistry behind gin and tonics' chemistry.
Steve Jackson mail: steve.jackson@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: steve.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 23:03:03 +0000
On The Trail Of The Wily Wild Hog
In almost every circumstance, hunting is strictly forbidden at national parks. But there's an exception to that rule — hunting at Great Smoky Mountains National Park for an invasive and hugely destructive species: feral hogs.
Shawn Harrison mail: google@affablyhomonym.com | web: shawn.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 18:46:02 +0000
Hot For Hacker: The Women Obsessed With Edward Snowden
"I like that there is nothing sexual about him. It makes him even more sexually appealing to me."
Glenn Harris mail: glenn.harris@ventredi.eu | web: glenn.ventredi.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 17:43:51 +0000
The Secret Life Of Kim Jong Un’s Aunt, Who Has Lived In The US Since 1998
For the past 18 years, since defecting from North Korea into the waiting arms of the CIA, she's been living an anonymous life with her husband and three children.
Daniel Lee mail: daniel.lee@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: daniel.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 16:46:55 +0000
Finally, A Neodymium Magnet Defeats The Hydraulic Press
Hydraulic presses have been destroying object after object without pity, but this huge neodymium magnet actually stands up to the big brute.
Jeff Howard mail: yahoo@affablyhomonym.com | web: jeff.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 21:01:07 +0000
My Brief, Wondrous Career As A Professional Pooper
Fecal transplants have shown promise as treatments for some difficult diseases. Researchers need a lot of poop to study, and they're paying for it.
Steven Evans mail: steven.evans@horse-d.eu | web: steven.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 18:17:38 +0000
The Real Problem With Fusion Energy
The longstanding joke about fusion — that it’s the energy source of the future, and always will be — may actually be the field’s biggest problem.
Glenn Ramos mail: glenn.ramos@affablyhomonym.com | web: glenn.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 17:54:16 +0000
Guilty Grandma Leaves Voicemail Admitting She Was The One Who Ate The Last Donut
Grandma, like many others, "is not to be trusted with sweets."
Harold Cox mail: gmail@innovation-km.com | web: harold.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 18:46:02 +0000
How PreCheck Made Airport Security Lines Longer
The TSA expected to have 25 million people in the PreCheck program by now, but so far only 2.8 million have signed up. Which means empty PreCheck lines — and overstuffed regular lines.
Henk Jongmans mail: jongmansh@gmail.com | web: https://plus.google.com/u/0/102961349602300242299/ | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:33:10 +0000
A Chromebook Is Probably Better Than A Mac And Other Facts
Welcome to What We Learned This Week, a digest of the most curiously important facts from the past few days. This week: Chromebooks are good, Trump's hair is a weave and big waves are scary.
Arthur Ramirez mail: arthur.ramirez@pulpfrictions.com | web: arthur.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 15:52:58 +0000
Shooting Invasive Species With A Pesticide Gun Looks Like A Hell Of A Lot Of Fun
Invasive species Miconia calvescens, also called the “green cancer” or the “purple plague," has been pushing out native Hawaiian vegetation for decades. Solution? A giant pesticide cannon.
Edward Foster mail: yahoo@thedarkswans.com | web: edward.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:00:07 +0000
The Only Part Of The National Spelling Bee That Mattered Is This Kid's Ice Cold Game
My god. Shaking your head as your opponent is trying to spell and then clapping right in the kid's face? That's just raw. Hell yea. (The taunter, Nihar Janga, and the speller, Jairam Hathwar, went on to share the Spelling Bee title.)
Adam Warren mail: adam.warren@geheime.club | web: adam.geheime.club | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 19:45:17 +0000
The Synth That Changed Pop Forever
John Foxx had one. As did a-ha, Billy Idol, Berlin, Eurythmics and A Flock of Seagulls. No, we're not talking about hairstyles held up with so much hairspray that they damage several o-zone layers, but something else synonymous with the early eighties — the Roland Juno-60, a polyphonic synthesizer that has seen a recent revival.
Johnny Butler mail: johnny.butler@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: johnny.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 19:45:17 +0000
The Future Of Advertising On Snapchat Is Replacing Your Entire Face With A Product
"The X-Men campaign marks the first time any brand or company has completely taken over Snapchat. I hate to say it, but: Get used to it."
Steven Ramos mail: steven.ramos@horse-d.eu | web: steven.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 18:45:26 +0000
How Are These Trucks Not Flipping Over?
Keeping all four tires on the road does not really seem to be a point of emphasis for these guys.
Kenneth Simmons mail: kenneth.simmons@innovation-km.com | web: kenneth.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 18:46:02 +0000
How An Abrasive Geek Became Pop-Music's Journalistic Gatekeeper
Nardwuar has broadcast from CITR 101.9, the University Of British Columbia’s student radio in Vancouver, every Friday afternoon since October 1987, delivering his proudly geeky take on good music. But since the rise of YouTube he’s found a new audience for his gonzo brand of video interviews.
Walter Robinson mail: google@klarkzon.eu | web: walter.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 16:39:57 +0000
The Rise Of The Beer Can
Aluminum revolutionized America’s beverage industry, but at what environmental cost?
Peter Garcia mail: peter.garcia@klarkzon.eu | web: peter.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 14:40:48 +0000
The Fake University
How one California university faked students’ scores, skated by immigration authorities — and made a fortune in the process.
Jesse Roberts mail: jesse.roberts@thedarkswans.com | web: jesse.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:53:30 +0000
Get Those Squeakers Out Of Your House With This Ingenious Tipping Mouse Trap
This homemade contraption looks like it will do a way better job than most mass market traps.
Billy Gonzales mail: billy.gonzales@ventredi.eu | web: billy.ventredi.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 18:17:38 +0000
The First High-End Camera To Capture The Entire Light Field
Get 70% off Lytro’s Illum Camera, which lets you take “living pictures” that you can adjust afterwards.
Dennis Martinez mail: dennis.martinez@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: dennis.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 15:40:16 +0000
The Dream (Or Fantasy) Of Black Lacrosse
Participation is booming, but diversity is static in the sport. Why can't the growing sport make room?
Glenn Harris mail: glenn.harris@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: glenn.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 16:39:57 +0000
We Have No Idea How Most Species Age
Our lack of knowledge of how other organisms cope with time's unstoppable march directly affects our own understanding of human aging.
Allen Powell mail: gmail@klarkzon.eu | web: allen.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:27:48 +0000
How To Grill Just About Everything For Memorial Day
Memorial day, what with its nice weather, is the first big grilling weekend of the year. Why slave away in a hot kitchen on a beautiful day when you can toil over an open flame in the pounding sunshine for hours? It's the American way!
Alan Ramos mail: alan.ramos@daftest.website | web: alan.daftest.website | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 17:43:51 +0000
The Citizen-Soldier
"As a former Marine, I’ve watched the unraveling of Iraq with a sense of grief, rage, and guilt. As an American citizen, I’ve felt the same, though when I try to trace the precise lines of responsibility of a civilian versus a veteran, I get all tangled up."
Henk Jongmans mail: jongmansh@gmail.com | web: https://plus.google.com/u/0/102961349602300242299/ | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:36:43 +0000
The Wild Theory That Connects All The 'Doom' Games
On the surface, Doom seems like a clean break from the previous games, merely borrowing the same premise: you’re on the surface of Mars and fighting demons from Hell. But there’s evidence suggesting it’s more, and that id Software found a way to connect the series together. Maybe.
Anthony Warren mail: anthony.warren@ventredi.eu | web: anthony.ventredi.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:36:43 +0000
The NSA’s Guide To The Internet Is Deeply Weird
“Untangling the Web” cites Borges, Frued, and Ovid — and that’s just the preface.
Jeffery Mcdonald mail: jeffery.mcdonald@daftest.website | web: jeffery.daftest.website | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 12:58:42 +0000
Trailer Narrator Torments Sarah Silverman For Not Winning Any Awards
"Under Oath" features a bunch of Academy Award winners. And also Sarah Silverman. And boy, the trailer's voiceover guy won't let her hear the end of it.
Jason Marshall mail: jason.marshall@affablyhomonym.com | web: jason.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 15:40:15 +0000
Barack Obama Visits Hiroshima, Calls For An End To Nuclear Weapons
Obama laid flowers at a memorial to the dead before paying tribute to the people of Hiroshima and calling on humanity to learn the lessons of the past to make war less likely.
Harold Richardson mail: harold.richardson@pulpfrictions.com | web: harold.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:33:10 +0000
Why Silicon Valley's Giants Want Us To Live Forever
Despite the hyperbole, private funding is changing the science of aging for the better.
Roy Lewis mail: gmail@thedarkswans.com | web: roy.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 14:40:48 +0000
Tungsten Does Some Pretty Cool Stuff When You Turn It On A Lathe
This metalworker wasn't quite sure what to expect when turning a hardened Tungsten shaft with a ceramic cutting tool. The results are pretty cool.
Lee Foster mail: yahoo@affablyhomonym.com | web: lee.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 14:40:48 +0000
People Try To Bring Some Really Weird Stuff Through Airport Security
There might not be a clear cut reason for TSA to not let a prop of a dead body from “The Texas Chainsaw Massacre” through security. But there's definitely no reason for anyone to ever try that.
Mark Gonzalez mail: mark.gonzalez@klarkzon.eu | web: mark.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:50:12 +0000
Dreaded Superbug Found For The First Time In US
A 49-year-old Pennsylvania woman showed the presence of a rare kind of E. coli infection that is resistant to antibiotics, even Colistin, which doctors sometimes use as a last resort when other antibiotics fail.
Anthony Shaw mail: anthony.shaw@klarkzon.eu | web: anthony.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:36:43 +0000
The Dark Side Of Livestreaming Is Beginning To Reveal Itself
After a woman live-streamed her suicide, a teenager broadcast her friend’s rape, and a man narrated his standoff with a Florida SWAT team on video steaming services. We are quickly encountering the dark side of a livestreaming society.
more